Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery

Contact Information
Department of Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery
Singapore General Hospital, Academia
65 6321 4686
(for departmental matters only)
Established in 1972,  the SGH Department of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery is the pioneering and largest department in Singapore for Plastic, Reconstructive and Aesthetic Surgery and has the only specialized burns unit in the country.

From humble beginnings of just 34 beds serving general plastic surgery and burns cases, we have steadily grown to a department providing specialized services in Reconstructive Microsurgery, Cleft and Craniofacial surgery, Skin cancer management, Head and Neck Cancer Surgery and Reconstruction, Maxillofacial trauma, Cosmetic Surgery and Burns, caring for hundreds of patients on a daily basis.

The department’s Burns Centre stood up to multiple challenges in our early days, such as that of the Spyros Greek oil tanker explosion incident in 1978, one of the worse mass casualty disasters in the history of Singapore, and from there we have continued to strengthen our position as a premier centre for burns management and surgery.

The department has a rich history of firsts in the region, having hosted the 1st ASEAN Congress of Plastic Surgery in 1982. Further notable conferences organized were the 1st Asian-Pacific Cleft lip/palate congress in 1988 and the 8th international conference on cleft lip-palate and related craniofacial anomalies in 1997.
We are a high volume centre with a strong tradition of teaching and training of medical students, junior doctors and future plastic surgeons with ever increasing training resources and research facilities. Our vibrant department continues to host local and international instructional courses for microsurgery, flap surgery, hand transplant and facial anatomy. We have also co-hosted various prestigious international meetings, notably the ASEAN-IPRAS meeting (2014) and the annual Plastic Aesthetic Surgery Meeting (2016) with the Singapore Association of Plastic Surgeons (SAPS).

Heads of Department:

  • 1972 – 1985: Dr Wong Kum Leng
  • 1985 – 1998: Dr Lee Seng Teik
  • 1999 - 2004: Dr Tan Kok Chai
  • 2005 – 2012: Dr Colin Song
  • 2012 - 2018: Dr Tan Bien Keem
  • 2019 - Current : Dr Ong Yee Siang


 ;  ;   ;   ;   ;  ;   ;   ;   ;   ;   ;   ;   ;   ;