Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery

Contact Information
SGH Block 7 Level 1, Clinic P
Singapore General Hospital, Outram Road
Singapore 169608
65 6326 6411

Opening Hours
Monday to Friday: 8am to 5pm
Saturday: 8am to 12noon
Sunday & Public Holiday: Closed

Established in 1972, the SGH Department of Plastic, Reconstructive & Aesthetic Surgery is the pioneering and largest department in Singapore for plastic surgery services.

From humble beginnings of just 34 beds serving general plastic surgery and burns cases, the department has steadily grown to provide specialized tertiary care services to patients for a variety of reasons and indications. These include reconstructive microsurgery, cleft and craniofacial surgery, skin cancer management, head and neck cancer surgery and reconstruction, maxillofacial trauma and cosmetic surgery. We also house the SGH Burn Centre, which is currently the only specialised facility managing major burn injuries in Southeast Asia, with strong affiliations to the SGH Skin Bank / Skin Culture Laboratory which conducts internationally renowned research related to wound healing.

We are a high volume centre staffed by 13 plastic surgeons who run over 20 specialist clinic sessions per week and at least 2 dedicated full-day surgical operating lists per day. We maintain a vibrant research-oriented environment, with active contributions to the teaching and training of medical students, junior doctors and future plastic surgeons.  We regularly host local and international instructional courses for microsurgery, flap surgery, hand transplant and facial anatomy. We have also co-hosted various prestigious international meetings, notably the ASEAN-IPRAS meeting (2014) and the annual Plastic Aesthetic Surgery Meeting in conjunction with the Singapore Association of Plastic Surgeons (SAPS).

Heads of Department:

  • 1972 – 1985: Dr Wong Kum Leng
  • 1985 – 1998: Dr Lee Seng Teik
  • 1999 - 2004: Dr Tan Kok Chai
  • 2005 – 2012: Dr Colin Song
  • 2012 - 2018: Dr Tan Bien Keem
  • 2019 - Current : Dr Ong Yee Siang


 ;  ;   ;   ;   ;  ;   ;   ;   ;   ;   ;   ;   ;   ;